Thumb

VDOE Implementation FAQs

- Share This Page

The Virginia Board of Education has revised its teacher performance standards and evaluation criteria to include an evaluation of cultural competency. The following performance standard was added to the Guidelines for Uniform Performance Standards and Evaluation Criteria for Teachers: The teacher demonstrates a commitment to equity and provides instruction and classroom strategies that result in culturally inclusive and responsive learning environments and academic achievement for all students. 

 

Below you will find answers to frequently asked questions (FAQs). The VDOE will continue to update this page as new information become available. 

Teacher Evaluation of Cultural Proficiency Efficacy

  • Pursuant to Section 2.2-4002.1. of the Code of Virginia, guidance documents are subject to a 30-day public comment period, to include public comment through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website, after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to their effective date. The public comment period for the Guidelines ends May 12, 2021, and the proposed effective date for the Guidelines is May 13, 2021.

 

Cultural Competency Licensure Requirements

Initial Licenses & Renewals: Interim Guidelines will be released between July 1, 2021-June 30, 2022. 

 

Current License Holders: The Board of Education BOE will issue Guidelines by December 31, 2021.  

African American History Instruction Licensure Requirements

Initial Licenses & Renewals: Interim guidelines will be released between July 1, 2021-June 30, 2022.

Current License Holders: The Board of Education will issue Guidelines by Dec. 31, 2021.

Bi-Annual Cultural Competency Training Requirements for School Employees

The Board of Education will issue guidelines by December 31, 2021.  School Boards must adopt local policies to require individuals employed by the divisions and licensed by the Board of Education to take training once every 2 years. Qualifying staff must take the training for the first time by the start of the 2022-2023 school year. 

Under the state law, only those individuals who are both employed by a division and a licensed staff are required to take the training; However, school divisions should carefully consider who else in their buildings would benefit from the training. Local policies can be adapted to cover additional individuals.

Sign Up For Education Updates

Subscribe to receive news and updates from the Virginia Department of Education.

Keyboard with email button